The story as to the origin of the Hurricane is said to begin during WWII, when popular liquors, like whiskey, were in short supply. Clever salesman forced bar owners to purchase cases of more plentiful liquors, like rum, before they would be willing to sell them bottles from their otherwise limited supply. Once Pat O’Briens found itself with an abundance of rum on hand, the bar set out to create a signature drink and the fruity concoction was born. The name “Hurricane” derives from the glass the drink is served in, which bares a resemblance to the shape of a hurricane lamp.
Easily categorized as a tourist trap, in spite of itself, with a drink so closely associated with New Orleans, a stopover at Pat O’Brien’s should not be skipped during a visit to the city.
The cost of a Hurricane is $11, but $3 will be returned to you if you turn in the logo glass.
Locations throughout New Orleans:
718 St. Peter Street
624 Bourbon Street (Courtyard)
600 Decatur St – 3rd Floor
Can’t make it to NOLA? Here’s how to make your own Hurricane:
In a 26 oz. Hurricane glass, mix
- 4 oz. of Pat O’Brien’s Hurricane Rum or a good Dark Rum
- 4 oz. of Pat O’Brien’s Hurricane Mix
- Fill with crushed ice
- Garnish with an orange and cherry
…the official mixer and logo glassware can be purchased through the bar’s website.
Founded by Dr. Stephen Ambrose, renowned author and historian, in 1991, the museum first opened its doors in 2000 on the 56th anniversary of the Normandy invasion. Located in New Orleans, where Andrew Higgins built the landcraft used in the amphibious invasions of WWII, the museum is the only one in the United States that addresses all of the amphibious invasions or “D-Days” of WWII. Upon first entering the museum, visitors walk into the Louisiana Memorial Pavilion where aircraft and tanks from the war, including a fully restored C-47 and a Sherman Tank, are displayed in the open pavilion. From that area, visitors can enter the second and third floors where the museum houses its permanent collection. Broken into four areas: The Home Front, Planning for D-Day, The D-Day Beaches and The D-Day Invasions of the Pacific, the exhibits are comprised of artifacts, text panels and recordings of personal accounts as told by veterans of the war. The museum also highlights the story of the WWII glider pilots, complete with a full size WWII-era glider on display. In addition to the exhibition halls, the museum’s Malcolm S. Forbes’ Theatre alternates showings of The Price for Peace and D-Day Remembered, two films focusing on the D-Day invasions of Normandy and the Pacific.
945 Magazine Street/Adult Admission $18 Museum Only/ Museum & Theater $23
Although eight locations now exist throughout the city, the original French Market Coffee Stand was established in 1862. The open-air landmark cafe embodies the charming character of the city and acts as a modern day reminder of its French history. The menu is simple, dark roasted coffee and chicory, beignets, juice and soda, but rich in tradition. The famous beignet, a square shaped piece of fried dough, covered in powdered sugar and only sold in threes, were first brought to Louisiana by the Acadians, developers of the state’s unique Cajun culture. The Acadians also introduced the coffee and chicory blend that was originally derived from the French, who added chicory to add body and flavor when coffee was scarce during the Civil War. Throughout the city you will find the mustard yellow colored coffee tins and beignet mix boxes, a uniquely New Orleans gift for those not on the trip with you.
French Market location: 800 Decatur Street; closed Christmas day, otherwise 24hrs
Popular among locals and tourists alike, the famous Carousel Bar was first installed in 1949 and is the only rotating bar in New Orleans. The 25 seat bar gained its current carousel top in 1992 following renovations that included the installation of fiber optics in the ceiling to simulate stars in a night sky. Beyond the gimmicks, the bar has long maintained its popularity, once having regular patrons that included the likes of Tennessee Williams, Ernest Hemingway and Truman Capote.
214 Royal Street at Iberville Street
Voodoo, which can be generally understood as a spiritual system based on God, ancestors and spirits, within which these forces interact with humans in all matters of fate and fortune, was originally brought to New Orleans directly from Africa. A popular figure in American folklore and likely the most well known Voodoo Queen of New Orleans, Marie Laveau, is believed to have been born in Louisiana in 1794. With little known about her actual life, Marie Laveau’s legend continued to grow and it was believed that through readings, rituals and spells she could heal the sick or give one the power to regain a lover or destroy an enemy. The site of the Voodoo store is allegedly the site where Laveau’s daughter of the same name actually once lived. Both a shrine to the Voodoo Queen and a full service shop, the offerings range from traditional gris-gris bags, tarot cards, voodoo dolls to ritual masks and ceremonial sage smudge sticks.
Marie Laveau was believe to have died in 1881, although her ghost was rumored to still be seen around the city long after her death. Allegedy, she was buried in the Glapion family crypt in Saint Louis cemetery No. 1 in New Orleans. The marker on the crypt reads “This Greek revival tomb is reputed burial place of this notorious ‘Voodoo Queen.’ A mystic cult, voodooism, of African origin, was brought to this city from Santo Domingo and flourished in the 19th century. Marie Laveau was the most widely known of many practitioners of the cult.” As big of an attraction as the voodoo shop, her tomb continues to draw large numbers of visitors, who will (illegally) mark three crosses, “XXX,” on its side, in the hopes that Ms. Laveau’s spirit will grant them a wish.
739 Bourbon St. at St. Ann